November 1, 2014 … infinity in the palm of your hand*

There are no snow-capped mountains nearby.

Dead tree

Beauty in a dead tree

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

For all that, I still look for the beauty all around me in the everyday world I call home. A week away in scenic grandeur has increased the challenge in some ways, but has made me more aware of the genius of William Blake. Things I drive past regularly are suddenly more visible. This tree trunk on the Haywards hill suddenly revealed itself as a rata … look at those roots coming down the side of the original host.

Kingfisher

This kingfisher is representative of a larger population

From there I looked at Pauatahanui Inlet on the Motukaraka Point , hoping for kingfishers. There was one, though it didn’t move while I was there. Still, I just wanted to let them and you, dear readers, know that I am still interested.

Reserve

Across the wildlife reserve

But I was tired, and not up for a long stay, so I turned towards home. The sea of waving salt grasses made me pause along Grays Rd.

Reeds

Among the reeds at low level

Though there is seemingly no subject, I like the patterns set up by the grass. However I tried to get closer so I put the camera down at the level of the mud and tried for a bird’s-eye view, assuming that it was a wading bird in the pond. Blake was right*. There is a whole world down there in each grain of sand.

Goodnight all.

*Auguries of Innocence by William Blake

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Pauatahanui, Trees. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

