21 October , 2014 … whoops! A major lapse.

I took a lot of photographs yesterday.

poppies

Knitted poppies for the Gallipoli centenary

There is no illusion that they were particularly good photographs, but for whatever reason, I inadvertently formatted the card before I uploaded them, so I am having to select from a very limited set of shots on the other camera, or other shots made after the error was discovered. First I have a shot of some craft work made by Mary. Apparently there is a project aimed at the commemorating the centenary of the Gallipoli campaign on ANZAC day 2015. This involves a lot of knitted poppies made to a standard pattern. I believe 5,000 such poppies are required.

Flag

Lèse-majesté? As far as I know, an improper use of the flag.

 

In the evening, I enjoyed the company of former colleagues as we celebrated the 70th birthday of one of them. As I arrived at my friend’s house I spotted this flag just down the road. To my understanding, the use of the Royal Standard is reserved solely for the Queen or on occasion the Governor General. I have no idea whether the person is a royalist or being sarcastic, but he or she risks a $5,000 fine for breach of the Flags, Emblems and names Protection Act, 1981. (I am not a monarchist).

Night shot

Wet night in the valley

After a very pleasant meal at the Black Olive restaurant in Petone (recommended), the evening came to an end in light drizzle. Mindful of my disastrous error in deleting images, I made a last desperate shot of the view from my garage door down the valley through the rain. That’s Waterloo Rd heading across the valley.

Hopefully, no such errors will occur tomorrow, and then we are off on an adventure.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Art, Lower Hutt, Petone, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 21 October , 2014 … whoops! A major lapse.

  1. Pamela says:

    Any possibility of joining the poppy knitting circle? I dont have a pattern but would be happy to contribute. Pamela

Leave a Reply

