October 18, 2014 … passing the time

My car was back in the shop yesterday.

Hutt River

The Hutt River looking South from the Melling Bridge

Something was not installed correctly last visit, so that they had to remove and reinstall the rear bumper. This would take an hour, so I wandered around the back streets of Lower Hutt. I crossed the river at Melling and went Eastward towards the Hospital.

Spring

Late spring blossom

This area seems to be where light industry and housing mingle, but despite the industrial tinge, there are plentiful gardens and spring is lingering in places.

Tui

Warbling tui

As I was getting near the end of Bristol Square, I heard a persistent tui sitting in a flowering tree. Unusually, it seem unperturbed by my presence and was more interested in its song than the plentiful nectar. With only the standard lens I counted myself lucky to have got this close.

Morgan

Morgan Plus 8 Sports car … love the triple windscreen wipers

After a coffee with my son, Anthony who was on rostered days off, I collected the car and went into town where I collected some prints. I had lunch with a friend from the university and was on my way home again when this beauty pulled up beside me at the lights. I was stationary when I took this picture.  The Morgan Plus 8 is a wondrous beast, probably the last authentic descendant of a long line of sports cars. How nice it looked in British Racing Green, and oh, those wire wheels!.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Cars, Christchurch, flowers, Lower Hutt, Rivers, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 18, 2014 … passing the time

  1. Good action shot of the Tui

Leave a Reply

