October 16, 2014 … sittin’ on the dock of the bay*

Oriental Bay is a delight when the sun is out and the wind is still.

volley ball

Volley ball on Oriental Bay Beach

My exploration yesterday started there, and a group of young men were playing some variant of beach volleyball.  The afternoon was warm and there were a lot of people at the beach considering that it was a work day.

Dock of the bay

Sittin’ on the dock of the bay

Around the corner in Evans Bay, I spotted this couple just sitting and hanging out on a small jetty which is why I thought of Otis Redding for today’s title.

Spray

Drifting spray from the Carter Fountain. The wrapping around the building behind it seems to be standard practice when buildings are being worked on or painted.

Coming back into Oriental Bay towards the Setting sun, I was delighted with the backlit spray from the Carter Fountain, though the extensive drift suggested that the breeze had arisen in the half-hour since I had left there.

That’s all.

 

* (Sittin’ on) the Dock of the Bay by Steve Cropper and Otis Redding

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Light, Oriental Bay, Sport, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

