October 15, 2014 … wandering without a map

I know I am in trouble when I set out to take a picture but have no idea where, or of what.

IMG_4097

The technique of following your nose can lead to mediocrity. Nevertheless I set out in the direction that the front of my car was pointing. That took me through the Mangaroa Valley and over the hill into Upper Hutt. An old military storage establishment is quietly decaying in the midst of the rural lifestyle blocks.

IMG_4099

Over the ridge to Upper Hutt, and below me, the train from Masterton is bound for Wellington, having just passed through Maymorn.

IMG_4102

Mindful of the dictum to look around, I spotted a small blue flower which I take to be a bluebell.

IMG_4117

In Upper Hutt township, there is a traffic roundabout at the Northern end of the main street. In the centre of the island there is a large bronze sculpture, a stylised representation of a kereru sitting on a ring. The symbolism eludes me, but the sculpture is surrounded by tulips, poppies  and other perennials nearing the end of their flowering season.

That’s all for now

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Art, flowers, Mangaroa Valley, Railway, Upper Hutt. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

