October 12, 2014 … Worldwide Photowalk

A year gone by already!

Water

The water feature in Te Aro park shot while waiting for the group to arrive

Each year, at about this time, the Kelby organization sponsors the “Worldwide Photowalk” which is very popular with photographers at large, especially those who subscribe to the educational services of KelbyOne as I do. Each walk is limited to a maximum of 50 participants, and usually there is one per city or suburb. This year, there were 20,001 participants registered in 1,052 cities and locales around the world. Participants have the opportunity to compete for some serious photographic prizes. I was the organizer for Wellington and I was honoured to be joined by 36 fellow photographers. We began at Te Aro Park in the heart of the city.

feature

Hitherto unnoticed architectural detail on a building in Cuba Street

This walk was intended to discover the texture of the city as found in the back alleys and side roads, and the fabric and architectural details.

Wine

Wine on the table

Some of our participants engaged in street photography, but I am not extroverted enough to do that, so I concentrated on other things. A couple dining at the open window of a Cuba Street restaurant were bemused to be asked if I could photograph their table. Wine was open but food had yet to arrive.

Vivian St

Eastward along Vivian St, and the nearest thing Wellington has to a “red light district”

When you are in the company of other photographers, you tend to be watchful for new views, hopeful that you will see it before you do.

Memorial

Joe Kim Yung memorial in the vicinity of the now defunct Chinatown

Sometimes the discoveries you make are where you might least expect. I walked on this memorial to Joe Kum Yung, a murdered Chinese miner “killed by gunshot, 24 September, 1905” before I realised it was there.

A pleasant time

Oriental Bay Marina

Though the walk was just 3.6 km long, we took almost two hours (as expected)  to reach the waterfront where there was a lovely calm and a delightful stillness on the water.

Social

Laying the dust of the journey

Our collegial adventure ended up at Mac’s Brewbar in a very amiable gathering.

It was a happy day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Camera club, hobbies, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 12, 2014 … Worldwide Photowalk

  1. brent says:

    what a brilliant day you could not have asked for more

Leave a Reply

