October 11, 2014 … close to breaking point

That was the nearest I have been to giving up in 1,013 editions.

Forget-me-not

Chatham Islands Forget-me-not

The medical procedure left me feeling disinterested, All went well, by the way, but I was drained, and you can interpret that however you like. Mary drove me home afterwards but I was not allowed to drive, so after a bit of a doze, I wandered around the neighbourhood and shot almost anything. The Chatham Island Forget-me-not grows in the shady windy space on our Southern wall.

Dandelion

Dandelion

After a desultory walk around the house I demonstrated real desperation with this shot of a small dandelion.

Yachts

Yacht racing (you may need to click for a bigger shot)

A little later as the afternoon was reaching an end, I wandered down the road a little way to get a clear view over the harbour. Lots of yachts out there.

Mirror

Mirror on a blind corner

Coming back up the hill, the mirror used by our neighbours to see if it’s safe to exit from their driveway seemed worth a shot.

Things are much improved now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, flowers, harbour, Landscapes, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to October 11, 2014 … close to breaking point

  1. I kinda like the dandelion.

    • Except it is not a dandelion. Dandelion have a rosette of leaves pretty much flat to the ground, with the characteristic “lion’s teeth” indentations, and have a single yellow flower on a hollow stalk.

      • DennisW says:

        I agee, but the question remains…”What is it?” Found many images of dandelions, but none of the nameless bloom. Is it in the dandelion “family”?

  2. Toya says:

    Glad it is over for you and you can put it behind you.

  3. Re the “dandelion” … I suggest it is a member of the Asteraceae family, like the Dandelion, probably the Hawksbeard … http://www.massey.ac.nz/massey/learning/colleges/college-of-sciences/clinics-and-services/weeds-database/hawksbeard.cfm

Leave a Reply

