October 10, 2014 … walking back to happiness*

Tomorrow, I am leading a photographic walk around Wellington.

Ava St

Wellington Back streets

The WorldWide Photowalk is a charity walk organized by the Kelby organization. In over a thousand cities around the world, there are walks taking place with up to 50 people per walk. About 20,000 people are registered for this year’s walk, and as I said, I am leading the Wellington one. I decided I had better reconnoitre the route I had planned to ensure no unexpected obstacles on the day.  Backstreets and alleyways offer interesting opportunities.

Wigan St

Havana Restaurant, Wigan St

My walk took me in various lesser travelled streets, one of which is Wigan Street. There I encountered the Havana Restaurant, well known to the young and swiftly moving , but which I have never encountered before.  Quite quirky, I thought. Apparently it is part of Wellington’s old Chinatown.

Steps

You have to turn sideways to pass someone on these steep and narrow steps

My planned route goes a little way up the slopes of Mt Victoria and then down the steep narrow steps at the end of Prince Street to the waterfront at Oriental Bay and then behind Te Papa to the bar where we shall all socialize at the end.

Kereru

Native wood pigeons or kereru

At home, Mary drew my attention to a pair of kereru sitting on the power pole near our house. I usually avoid wire shots, but they were so big and so close that I succumbed. Then it was time to start drinking the cleansing fluid for the (routine) ugly medical procedure I had to undergo today. Yuk!

Karearea

New Zealand Native Falcon

I had just drunk the first litre of this vile brew when a neighbour came over and said there was a morepork on the pole outside. The morepork or native owl is very rare in daylight so I went out to look and found something even rarer. This was no morepork. It was a New Zealand Native Falcon or karearea. It was sitting on the same pole where the kereru had been just minutes earlier. What a fantastic visit! I have never seen one on this side of the valley in the 34 years we have lived here. Expert opinion tells me it is a male, perhaps a year old and not yet fully mature.  Its position on the power pole was not the best for photography, but what the heck, it’s a karearea, it can sit wherever it likes.

An unexpectedly magical end to an interesting day.

*Walking back to Happiness by J Schroeder and M Hawker, sung by Helen Shapiro

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 10, 2014 … walking back to happiness*

  1. George Berger says:

    Noce DOF on photo of the stairs. Turn down a glass for me at the bar following the walk

Leave a Reply

