October 8, 2014 … of shoes and ships*

It was a hospice day yesterday.

Flowers

Flowers in the hospice garden

I occasionally need to interact with staff and patients when I am taking photographs for them, so I went through the same basic training session that all the hospice volunteers get, whether they are in the garden, in the kitchen or using a Canon 5DII. I arrived early and meandered around the lovely gardens filling in time until the session was due to start.

Sign

Sign warning of wandering photographer

The afternoon was warm and clear so I could amble about contemplating life and all the goodness around me. They even had a sign to ensure I didn’t get run over. The course was very well run and I was inordinately proud that my own dear wife ran one of the sessions and did it very well (not that I can take any credit for her skills).

Glory

Glory bound for Lyttelton

Afterwards, since the sun was lingering on, I went home via the Petone foreshore. Out on the horizon, a freighter, the Glory, was heading South.

Stena Polaris

Stena Polaris offloading at Point Howard

At Point Howard, there was that tanker that featured in the murky weather shots from the previous day. Stena Polaris is even more colourful when it isn’t raining.

LBS

Little black shag

Always hopeful I checked the Hikoikoi area to see if our local heron had come back. Alas, no, but this Little Black Shag was posing nicely.

Enough for now.

 

* The Walrus and the Carpenter by Lewis Carroll

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Cook Strait, flowers, Lower Hutt, Maritime, Petone, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to October 8, 2014 … of shoes and ships*

  1. John Titchener says:

    But where are the sealing wax, and cabbages and kings? JT

Leave a Reply

