Categories
harbour Maritime Petone Waves Weather Wellington

October 7, 2014 … waiting out the storm

In theory, yesterday was the start of Wellington’s cruise ship season.

Stena Polaris
Stena Polaris waiting for safer conditions before proceeding to the berth at Pt Howard.

None came. The passengers who didn’t come were spared an ugly day in the city with winds gusting to 140 km/h. From the Western end of Petone beach I could see that the Stena Polaris, a petrol tanker recently arrived from Marsden Point was anchored in the harbour. She is an occasional visitor to Wellington and seems a bit bigger and definitely more colourful than the other tankers on the coastal distribution circuit.

Waves
A fierce Southerly blow driving waves ashore at Petone

The car park was devoid of the usual line of people eating their solitary lunch and gazing at the harbour. Perhaps this was because the waves bursting on the sea wall were throwing salt spray a long way downwind. I parked a reasonable distance away and attempted to convey the wildness of the day.

More waves
More waves obscure the view of the city

The wooden walkway along the sea wall was frequently inundated, and the scrubby area behind it was just swamped with endless streams of water flowing out across the paths and back to the sea.

It died down overnight.

 

By wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures.

This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.

One reply on “October 7, 2014 … waiting out the storm”

Leave a comment