October 6, 2014 … fossils and flora

Billie’s visit came to an end yesterday.

Dinosaur

A lesser carnivore, about half the size of a T. Rex.

Before we parted company though, we took her to the National Museum, Te Papa where there was an exhibition about dinosaurs. I presumed that, as in most other paying exhibitions, cameras would be prohibited, so I left mine in the car. The first words the attendant said as we arrived were “photography is permitted”.  Though I rarely use my Galaxy S3 as a camera, I had no choice. As phone cameras go, the S3 is pretty capable, but I prefer a viewfinder and a good solid camera.

Red tulips

Sunlit tulips

After some morning tea in the coffee lounge at Te Papa we drove up to the Botanic gardens. Billie apparently likes flowers and despite a severe hail storm the previous day, the tulips were at the peak of their display. What’s more, the sun was shining.

More tulips

Splendid display

As I mentioned earlier, some of the displays had to be uprooted because of a fungal infection, but the beds still in place were spectacular.

Cartwheels

Billie didn’t seem to buy into old-fashioned notions about activities after meals.

After a suitable period of exploration, we enjoyed a picnic in the Dell and afterwards, watched Billie perform endless effortless cartwheels across the lawn. She is quite an accomplished gymnast. Then we had to return her to her aunt in Seatoun.

That’s all for now.

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Botanic gardens, Children, flowers, Museum, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

