September 30, 2014 … a bright patch

And then suddenly, for no apparent reason, sunshine.

Shags

The wharf is visibly unsafe, but the shags don’t care.

A steady Northerly was blowing so I decided to look at what was happening on the South Coast. I took the long way, of course, and went around Evans Bay and through the former defense base at Shelly Bay. The wharves and moorings seem to be slowly eroding and becoming part of the sea and the shore. One of the old jetties is adorned with a yellow-green lichen and is quite picturesque, with or without the small colony of shags perched on it.

Star class

The stars are in alignment

In Seatoun, there was a small fleet of yachts racing and suddenly I could see three of them coming into alignment. Their masts swung into parallel and click, they were caught. Pity about the outlier, but I like it anyway.

Kaitaki

The ferry seems to be trading on the heels of the ship ahead

In Tarakena Bay, I could see the heavy lift ship, AAL Hong Kong passing across the horizon en route from Nelson to Napier, while closer in the ferry Kaitaki was looking deceptively smart in the bright sun.

Long waves

Long waves

After passing through the tunnel at the Southern end of the airport runway. I found myself in Lyall Bay where there were some surprisingly long sweeping rollers surging shoreward.

Crossover

Surfing crossover

I parked beside the seawall and grabbed a few shots of surfers against the late afternoon sun. Did I mention that in the early hours of Sunday morning, Daylight Savings time began, so afternoons are lingering longer.

That’s all for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Airport, Birds, Evans Bay, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Maritime, South Coast, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

