September 29, 2014 … in search of simplicity

Tomorrow, I get to talk to a bunch of people about something to which I still don’t know the answer.

Blue flower

Why do I make pictures of things like this? Because I enjoy how it looks in print or on the screen. I have no clue what it is.

Why do I make images. Note the careful phrase “make images”. Even if I use the words, I don’t believe in “taking pictures”. I use whatever means I can to create something that pleases me. Often I find that others to whom I show my images don’t like some of them as much as I do. I get a goodly share of positive feedback for which I am always grateful, but it is still something of a lottery for me. If I didn’t make so many images I would have far fewer successful ones. A friend (she knows who she is) made a lovely image of an unopened poppy bud the other day. It was green against a green background and was breathtaking in its simplicity and beauty. Sometimes I have to work very hard to point myself in the direction of that simplicity.

Red and yellow

These at least, I can identify as tulips

When I talk to the group tomorrow, one of my messages will be the importance of what gets left out of the picture. Sometimes a fragment of a scene conveys more than the wide view. Yesterday there was persistent light drizzle, so I got the idea that the annual tulip festival in the Botanic Gardens might respond well to being photographed in the rain and might even allow me to make a few images.

More red and yellow

Despite the damage by weather and fungus, there were some significant blocks of colour

To my shock and disappointment, there were some large patches of bare earth. Some kind of fungal infection had invaded some of the tulip beds and they had to be cleared away, so it became even more necessary to concentrate on detail rather than the broad scene.

White tulips

Ragged edges were interesting

One particular variety of white tulip had distinctive ragged edges to its petals and I though them worth a closer look. Though I have done them, I am not a wedding photographer. This was a little like shooting the bridal dress, and required a lot of care to expose for detail as well as the natural brilliance of the flower.

Poppy

Wet poppy

The gardens are fairly traditional, with formally laid out blocks of particular flowers and blocks of colour. As well as the tulips, there were poppies, though the gales that had blasted through the night before had made a mess of the fragile flowers. A few had survived, or perhaps they had opened afterwards, but again the idea of using a detail to represent the whole came to the fore.

Red

Red

Despite the dismal weather, a lot of people were wandering though the gardens, moved as I was by the simplicity of the thing. I must remember to keep coming back for it.

Thanks to the kind people who sent supportive messages after the thousandth edition.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in flowers, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September 29, 2014 … in search of simplicity

  1. Pamela Rothschild says:

    A 1000 +1 of many enjoyable photos and ramblings, thank you for the wonderful journey which I hope continues for a long time to come. Pamela

  2. The purple flower at the top is an Echium “Pride of Madeira” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Echium_candicans . Congratulations on your 1001 blogs. I’m a great admirer of your images. I check in daily to see what you have photographed.

  3. Aww shucks! 🙂
    Beautiful images of tulips. Interesting to see another angle/depth of field taken.

Leave a Reply

