September 27, 2014 … wandering in the park

Yesterday I visited a friend in the upper valley.

Barton's Bush

Barton’s Bush in Heretaunga Trentham MemorialPark, Silverstream

On the way home, I diverted by way of Heretaunga Trentham Memorial Park. In the middle of the park is Barton’s bush, a lovely dense patch of native trees. The only downside to me was that all the paths were fenced off so that you couldn’t enter the bush itself. It’s just not the New Zealand way to put fences around public bush, and is as alien here as a  “keep off the grass” sign. Ugh!

More bush

Dense growth in Barton’s Bush

Despite my dislike for the fences, there is some healthy bush and it was otherwise a pleasure to wander through.

Stopbank

On the river side of the stopbank, Silverstream

On the Western side of the bush, there is the stop bank which separates the affluent housing nearby from the river when it shows sign of flooding. The open land on either side of the bank is well used for all kinds of recreation as makes a pleasant landscape in its own right.

Blackbird

Partially pigmented blackbird

My last shot in this, the 999th edition of this blog, is of a bird that baffled me. Eventually I received advice that it is simply a blackbird with leucism, or a lack of pigmentation.  Well I thought it was interesting

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Forest, Landscapes, Plant life, Silverstream. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

