September 26, 2014 … a change in the course of the day

I expected to spend the next two days as a pedestrian.

Haze

Morning haze in the Hutt Valley

Accordingly I walked down to my optometrist for a slightly overdue checkup. On the way, I enjoyed the morning light laying haze on the Eastern hills.

Southward

Southward through the heads

To the South, the view was slightly clearer and from Normandale Road, it looked like the beginning of a perfect day.

talent

Arguably, a wasted talent

In the valley I was looking back up towards home, and this mural leapt out at me. I am not enthusiastic about any form of graffiti, buy I have to concede that there is some real talent here. Perhaps not high art, but real talent nonetheless.

Herons

Herons in concealment

While I was leaping through optical hoops, my phone rang. Of course, I ignored it until it was all over, but it seemed that my panel beater couldn’t repair the tailgate on the wagon, and had to send away for a new one. OK, so I had my car back for a few days. Well, it was high tide and a fine morning though the wind was increasing, so out to Pauatahanui. Apart from a few herons it seemed quiet there.

Skylark

Skylark hopping along

Skylarks are the birds I am most likely to encounter at Whitireia Park and sure enough, I had just parked when one came hopping towards my door.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Art, Birds, harbour, Light, Lower Hutt, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

