September 25, 2014 … using the two-foot zoom*

My car has been in dock.

Ponga

New fronds unfurl from the crown of the ponga

My assertion is that I was rammed in the rear by a speeding fence-post. Anyway, though I had a couple of generous offers of help, I was temporarily a pedestrian. This has two results. First, I carry less equipment, and second, I tend to see more at the close-up level. Sometimes the things I see when I am on foot are ordinary, but they are not as I see them from the car. This simple Ponga tree, for example, has a presence as a foreground to the valley below.

Golden elm

Golden elm at the Hutt Memorial Library

Walking back from having coffee with a similarly immobilised friend, I passed the War Memorial Library on Queens Drive, Lower Hutt. In the library grounds are three or four of my favourite trees, the golden elm. They reach a climax in mid to late spring when the new season’s leaves seem to transition from flowers to leaves, and their pale green-gold colour defies description. This one is on its way.

Ironing board

In case your shirt is creased

There are contrasts, and as I trudged up Normandale Rd and over the bridge, an ironing board, minus its covers, stood incongruously in a car park and demanded attention.

Tree

Yet to be identified tree

Carrying a camera allows me to disguise my pauses for breath as if they were scientific or artistic explorations of some startling new phenomena. I have no idea what this particular tree is, but the contrast between it and the dark background allowed me to make a picture.

Broom

Broom in full golden coat

Much of the hillside is covered in yellow. It is the season for kowhai, gorse and broom. All three of them apply a heavy coat of yellow to the hills around the city. The Gorse is a pain if you get too close, but the broom is bright, and is everywhere.

Lower Hutt CBD

Lower Hutt from Normandale

My last shot for the day, as I was plodding steadily up the hill, was a look over the rail and the bush down to the central shopping area of Lower Hutt. It has changed little in recent years, but has been home for us since 1980.

That’s all for now.

*”two-foot zoom” … photographer’s slang for using your feet to get closer

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cars, flowers, Landscapes, Lower Hutt, Plant life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to September 25, 2014 … using the two-foot zoom*

  1. ordinarygood says:

    I am really enjoying your blog. I think your unidentified plant is the native Rangiora in glorious full flower. Also known as Bushman’s toilet paper on account of its soft, papery underside.
    Link here for more information: http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/photograph/13866/rangiora-leaves

  2. Cliff says:

    The Ponga appears to be having a bad hair, sorry, frond day.

Leave a Reply

