Categories
Animals flowers Wainuiomata

September 24, 2014 … another rural excursion

This is such a small city that you need not go far to find yourself in the country.

kid
Lop-eared kid

My choice yesterday was the coast road through Wainuiomata, just ten minutes from home. The sun was still shining though there was a stiff wind. A bunch of kids (of the goat kind) were enjoying themselves, but this one’s asymmetric  ears appealed to me.

Farmyard
Glorious anarchy

Near the coast, speaking of eccentricity, there is a farm that looks almost as chaotic as my office. Most of you are probably too young to recall a series of movies about Ma and Pa Kettle but for some reason my thoughts wandered back to Saturday afternoon movies when admission was 9d (less than 10 cents). Perhaps the Beverley Hillbillies is a nearer comparison. The immensity of the pig in this shot was what attracted me to the scene.

Tag
Tag

The coast was uninteresting on this occasion, so I came back and saw these lambs engaged in very vigorous play .

More lambs
Keeping close

Nothing serious though since they seemed to enjoy each other’s company.

Daffodils
Roadside daffodils

My last shot is to celebrate the fact that yesterday was the vernal equinox and by now it is truly spring here. Nothing says spring quite like lambs and daffodils, so here are the daffodils.

That’s it for today.

 

By wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures.

This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.

2 replies on “September 24, 2014 … another rural excursion”

Hi Brian, I was going to call you to task about your “vernal equinox” faux pas but woke up in time to realize that North is North and South is South, of the equator that is.;-) Your Nothern friend Dennis.

PS to my earlier post. I certainly remember “Ma and Pa Kettle” and Saturday matinees where 25 cents (US) would gain you admission AND a box of popcorn. Said box would be flattened and at the appropriate moment (no usher–what are they?–around) sailed at the screen.

Leave a comment