September 20, 2014 … in the wind and rain


I am sorry to say that today and tomorrow may provide lean pickings.

Scotland

“… but we can still rise now”*

On Friday I wandered around the harbour as usual. Wet, windy and grey. The only splash of colour was the blue and white saltire of Scotland flown from the masthead of a yacht moored in Evans Bay. It’s owner was undoubtedly downcast later in the day.

Aratere

Aratere stays well clear of the rocks

Out on the rocks at Palmer Head, the wind was really whistling and it was hard to find shelter from which to see the Aratere coming in from Picton.

The reef

Approach at your peril

Applying the “look behind” rule, the vicious rocks at the Northern end of Barrett’s Reef contrasted with the blue and white of the wind-whipped water in Breaker bay.

Sorry for the late posting.

* “flower of Scotland”

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Maritime, South Coast, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

