September 19, 2014 … shelter from the stormy blast*

Rough weather is upon is again.

Spirit

Spirit of New Zealand at anchor in Wellington Harbour

As is often the case when the weather is rough, the sail training ship Spirit of New Zealand was sheltering in the harbour.  I was on my way to lunch with a  good friend, but paused to take the shot. As you can see she has sails furled on all four of the square yards on the foremast.  There are crew clustered around the wheelhouse , but otherwise, she is at anchor, waiting for the weather.

CBD

Central Wellington

Since I was early in town, I went up Mt Victoria and looked down on the city. For any old Wellingtonians the brick building lower right is the railway station. Behind it in the centre is Rutherford House, home of the Business School at Victoria University and the place where I worked until my retirement.

Spoonbills

Royal Spoonbills huddled against the weather.

After a good helping of mussels steamed in blue cheese and mustard sauce, I drove up SH! to Plimmerton and thence along Grey’s Road to see if any  of my feathered friends were on show. In the ponds near Pauatahanui village, a cluster of Royal Spoonbills were shuffling around each other, weathercock fashion to face into the increasingly unpleasant weather

And the rugged weather continues.

*Isaac Watts, O God our help in ages past

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Birds, harbour, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

