September 14, 2014 … and a grey mist on the sea’s face*

Spring is teasing us.

Under sail

Spirit of New Zealand enters port under the power of her fore and aft sails

After some lovely days, the veil came down again, and the bright blue, green and gold was replaced by grey. I like grey, in moderation. Yesterday it was present in moderation. I began my photographic day on the beach at Petone, where there was a modicum of local sunshine. To the South, however, Wellington city was wreathed in cloud and mist. Across that scene, the sail training ship, Spirit of New Zealand was ghosting towards the city with lots of sail though sadly, none of her square sails were in use.

Oriental Bay

Misty city from the sunny valley

Light was falling nicely on Oriental Bay and the slopes of Mt Victoria, but most of the rest of the city was obscured. I had to go in to Crofton Downs and was surprised to find it was raining quite steadily in there, and I didn’t emerge into clear sky until I got back to Petone.

Beach

Playing on Petone Beach

At the park in the Western end of the beach, I liked the view along the waterline where there were dogs frolicking joyfully in the small surf as the owners looked on knowing that they were going to get the inevitable shower when the dogs shook themselves dry.

Wedding

The Wedding shoot

Though I was some distance form the wharf, I spotted a wedding party being photographed there and thought it looked very nice.

Oystercatcher

Oystercatcher with shellfish

My last shot of the day is just in case anyone thinks birds are forgotten. Here we have a pied oystercatcher with a mollusc clamped to its beak. This happens all the time and the birds are adept at sliding the shellfish off and devouring the contents.

Enough for now.

* Sea Fever, by John Masefield

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Maritime, Oriental Bay, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 14, 2014 … and a grey mist on the sea’s face*

  1. I like the story aspect to the Petone shot.

Leave a Reply

