September 10, 2014 … from morning to moonrise

Somewhere in the rules it must say that if you regain your health, you have to be kept busy.

Harbour view

Down the harbour from Normandale

Well, regardless of the busy day, it was a spectacularly beautiful one. Even as I was leaving home yesterday, I was scarcely a hundred metres down the road before I had to stop and try to capture the delicate beauty of the morning. This image is from the road just below our house, and as you can see, the view is straight through the heads towards the Antarctic ice.

herons

A “hedge of herons” with a masked lapwing in amongst them

By mid morning, I was out at Pauatahanui , and though I saw didn’t find the kingfishers I hoped for, I was coming Eastward around Grays Rd and reached the bridge over the Kakaho stream and realised there was something odd about the texture of the reeds. I was right … it was liberally strewn with white-faced herons. Apparently the collective noun for herons is a hedge. I had indeed found a “hedge of herons”.

Photobomb

Heron family photobombed by a kingfisher

Some stealth was required to get closer without putting them to flight, though that would have been spectacular. Of course, it is regarded as unethical by self-respecting birders. Anyway, I managed to get down low perched on the edge of the road with my feet almost in the swamp. I lined up on these four herons and pressed the shutter. It wasn’t until I was processing the images in the afternoon that I discovered I had been photobombed by a passing kingfisher with a crab in its beak. It isn’t sharp , but it is clearly identifiable in the top right corner.

Supermoon

Supermoon over the Hutt Valley, Tuesday 9th September

In the evening, I was leaving home for camera club, when I saw the first golden glint of the supermoon making its appearance behind the Eastern Hills. A hasty u-turn and a grab for the long lens gave me this shot of moon coming up from behind the trees.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Moon, Pauatahanui, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

