September 7, 2014 … but soft! what light?*

I suppose it could still be a train.

Harbour

Though the sky is dark, it is a vast improvement on the weather of the previous days

On the other hand, progress is being made, and there is light in the tunnel, and today, for the first time in a week I feel almost human. Yesterday, I went in search of pictures. There was mist and cloud about, and everything was very “atmospheric”. From the Northern end of the marshalling yard for the Interislander Ferry, the clouds were lingering near Mt Victoria and Brooklyn,

Island Bay

Island Bay and beyond

On the South coast at Houghton Bay, the swirling mists painted nice washes of grey to separate distant hills from nearby Tapu Te Ranga Island at Island Bay.

Hutt Valley

Looking down on the valley from home

By then I was starting to feel as if I had pushed things prematurely and I could feel the need for a second siesta, so I headed home again. As I parked the car, I saw a rainbow fragment lighting up the valley below.

Progress of a sort.

* Shakespeare, Romeo and Juliet, Act II, Scene II

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, harbour, Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to September 7, 2014 … but soft! what light?*

  1. Pleased to read you are on the mend!!

  2. Also thanks for continuing with the blog when you were feeling “under the weather”.

  3. Lydia says:

    Island Bay and Beyond photo – superb!!!

Leave a Reply

