September 4, 2014 … and the malady lingers on

They say that if your nose runs and your feet smell, you are built upside down.

Lapwing

Masked lapwing and chick

My feet are reasonably pure, but the nasal problems have required a lot of tissues. The continuation of this ailment has diminished my enthusiasm for getting outside, and for pretty much everything else. Nevertheless, I have been trying to keep the faith, though my beloved minder is winding in the leash. On Wednesday I still managed to get out to Pauatahanui. It wasn’t wildly exciting, but I did see some masked lapwings with their chick, exploring a pond in a farm paddock.

Heron

I love those reeds with or without the bird

Across the road from the lapwings, a white-faced heron chose a picturesque spot on which to pose so I took it.

Pauatahanui

One of these could be the fabled last post

In the wildlife reserve, I was out of luck at the bird hide, so consoled myself with the shot that many people take if they were unsuccessful with the birds. Most of them would have the presence of mind to use a smaller f-stop and get all the posts in focus. I blame the illness.

Tui

Tui in the kowhai bush

My last for the day was a tui harvesting nectar in a kowhai tree at the gateway to the reserve. Once the tui gets involved with nectar, it seems less cautious than normal so I could get quite close.

That’s what I did on Wednesday.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 4, 2014 … and the malady lingers on

  1. atwistedpair says:

    Your quip about “the fabled last post” notwithstanding, I find that image particularly appealing. Its restricted palette of colours and minimalist subject-matter remind me of the paintings of Andrew Wyeth. You might (as I did) try cropping the image to 1620 x 810.

Leave a Reply

