September 1, 2014 … spring at last

I think I said it was quieter at home.

Fire

Clouds of smoke billow from the Exchange Hotel on Queens Drive, Lower Hutt

Yesterday started not so quietly with sirens and Mary coming up the stairs to alert me to a huge plume of smoke down in the valley. One of the local pubs was on fire and I believe no fewer than eleven appliances turned out to quell the blaze. It was all over in an hour or two. I read that the Exchange hotel was purchased just a few months ago with a view to demolition.

Evans Bay

Still waters, striking clouds in Evans Bay

Wandering the city in pursuit of images I began to realise just how fertile the photographic ground was in Brisbane. Nevertheless, Wellington provides landscapes, cloudscapes and seascapes, sometimes all in the one shot.

Wellington

Central city afternoon

From Pt Halswell, I took the long view back to the city catching low afternoon light gleaming on the city centre.

Kaitaki

Kaitaki turns into the harbour on a trip from Picton

From there it was around the peninsula to Palmer Head where the interisland ferry Kaitaki was just turning towards the harbour. Though she is a regular visitor with three return journeys a day, she can present a stirring sight with the sun gleaming on her white paint.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Evans Bay, Landscapes, Light, Lower Hutt, Maritime. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to September 1, 2014 … spring at last

  1. Mike Leahy, Farnham, Surrey says:

    Your beautiful picture of Evans Bay reminded me of the cream wake across it when the Teal flying boat from Rose Bay came in to land on it. Presumably the Short Solent mk4. I used it see it often on my way to work when I lived in Wellington.
    Good work as usual.

Leave a Reply

