August 31, 2014 … from there back to here

As soon as I opened my eyes this morning, I knew I was home.

Brisbane

From up here those tower blocks are less imposing. The cute little bump behind and to the right of the city is Mt Coot-tha

No bird noise, apart from a few sparrow squeaks. No crows’ raucous noise, no crested pigeons coo-ing, no noisy miners warbling, no cockatoos squawking. Just a peaceful Sunday morning in the valley. We said goodbye to the family and Brisbane quite early yesterday and soon were airborne over the city before turning Eastwards towards home. The skies were clear and blue and the temperatures were on their way up when we left. It was an uneventful journey except that Virgin Australia didn’t order enough pies, so I had to settle for a very dull sandwich for lunch. In Wellington the weather was partly overcast, and at a mere 13 degrees C it didn’t feel much colder than the 21 degrees we left behind.

Plimmerton

From Plimmerton towards Mana Island and a cloudscape over the Tasman

Of course I had to go to Pauatahanui to see if it had been taken care of in my absence. No kangaroos in sight, nor even any interesting birds, so I carried on to Plimmerton. Of course the shore plovers had been relocated so I settled for what I could make of the seascape.

Heron

White-faced heron fishing

Up the Southern side of the inlet, I saw a few white-faced herons and liked the contrast with the wave patterns and the glittering reflected sunlight.

wildflower

Unidentified blue flowers

From the same vantage point, some wildflowers begged for attention so I close my first day home with a splash of blue. I have no idea what they are.

Goodnight all.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Aviation, Birds, flowers, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui, Porirua, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 31, 2014 … from there back to here

  1. I think those flowers are Echium vulgare, also known as Viper’s Bugloss. Gorgeous colour.

Leave a Reply

