August 29, 2014 … a close encounter of the marsupial kind

Our time in Brisbane is almost at an end.

Bamboo

Bamboo is nice to look at, but in my experience is host to a million biting insects.

Yesterday afternoon, I went with David to collect Isaac from school. I liked the textures of the tall bamboo growing near the classrooms, though I have the idea that they are a haven for all sorts of biting insects in a land where there are too many already.

Egret

Egret with injury … help was called but I could do no more

I went next to the Barungwarra reserve on the South Pine River, and was delighted to see a large egret. However, I was distressed to see it was injured with a spike sticking out of its lower bill, and was probably unable to eat. We called the bird rescue people who promised to look for it and to see what could be done.

Kangaroos

Kangaroos pause from grazing to keep a wary eye on the photographer

Next I went back to Tinchi Tamba wetlands and again to my delight, there were kangaroos browsing in the afternoon sun. The perked to attention when I got out of the car, but resumed their grazing as I drove off to do the walkway.

Kangaroo

A big solitary kangaroo at close quarters

Halfway round the loop walk, I encountered a large solitary kangaroo. We looked at each other startled, and then it bounded off, but paused to look back at me. I am aware that kangaroos, if threatened can inflict severe injuries, so I held back. This one was about my height when standing upright so definitely not to be taken lightly. It watched me for a while then resumed its journey into the cover of the bush.

Homeward bound in the morning, but with one more day’s stories from Queens;and to tell when we get home.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Animals, Birds, Brisbane, Light, Rivers, Trees. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

