August 22, 2014 … slipping the surly bonds of Earth*

Yesterday started impossibly early.

Rongotai

“oh-dark hundred at Wellington Airport”

My belief is that there is no such time as 2:30 am, yet my alarm clock woke me then. An hour later we were on our way to the airport to check in for our trip to Brisbane. By 6:00 am we were on the plane being pushed back from the terminal on the first flight to leave after the end of the night curfew.

Dawn

A new day dawns mid-Tasman

It was a smooth trip, albeit with one of those airlines that gives you what you pay for and no more (so I had breakfast in the terminal before boarding). About an hour after leaving a wet and chilly Wellington, we were suddenly bathed in the glad light of the new day.

Gold Coast

The fabled Gold Coast

After three hours we arrived over the Australian coast at Coolangatta and turned North towards Brisbane. I was impressed by the clean clear view of the Gold Coast high-rise buildings.

butcher bird

Butcher bird, a first class singer

David met us at the airport and we were delighted to have his company for the day. When our grandson, Isaac came home from school we went over to Deagon where his other grandparents live. Isaac walked with me along the nearby creek and to my delight I saw three white herons (or egrets) and four royal spoonbills. We heard a delightful warbling song and it turned out to be the butcher bird. Despite the vicious hook on the end of its bill it is a superb singer.

West

West from Bald Hills

As the sun was going down, it seemed there might be a spectacular sunset, so David took me up to Gympie Road where there was a clear view to the West. It was perhaps not as David hoped, but I liked what I saw.

It was a long day, but a happy one.

* High Flight, by John Magee

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Airport, Aviation, Birds, Brisbane, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

