August 18, 2014 … warm sun and little or no wind

Sunshine is an opportunity to be seized.

Paraglider

Paragliding from Baring Head

Wainuiomata’s south coast seemed like an idea, so I went down the coast road to the steep rocky beach where the waves crash endlessly to make the pebbles growl. As I arrived, I noticed a paraglider  soaring off Baring Head near the aerials at the lighthouse. He didn’t get enough wave lift to gain any altitude but managed to weave back and forth a few times before landing on the beach.

Lamb

I shall refrain from any mention of mint sauce <oops!>

As I mentioned yesterday, spring is coming. No surer sign of that in New Zealand than the arrival of lambs. They seem to be everywhere. This one was very curious about the bark of a pine tree. Take notice Northern hemisphere, your lease on summer is up and we are claiming it back!

Catchpool

The Catchpool stream in the Rimutaka Forest Park

Further up the road towards Wainuiomata I diverted into the Rimutaka Forest park and played with a slow exposure at the ford where the stream tumbles out of the bush. I know this treatment of water scenes is not to everyone’s taste, but I shall keep experimenting.

Marina

Lovely light and still water … my favourite conditions

By the time I crossed the hill back to the Hutt Valley there was no wind at all and it was a truly golden afternoon. The marina was at its best offering almost perfect reflections.

Enough for now.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Light, Sport, Wainuiomata, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 18, 2014 … warm sun and little or no wind

  1. Pamela Rothschild says:

    We haven’t had a lease on summer yet, its been wet and miserable, the worse July since ?!?!? so we might hold onto it for a wee while!

Leave a Reply

