August 3, 2014 … that’s enough water for now

This business of looking out the window in the morning is getting to be a habit.

Rays

Morning view from Normandale towards Stokes Valley

Heavy overcast with distant beams of sunlight around the Taita area greeted me yesterday. I took several shots but arguably one of these a day is sufficient.

Shack

This old shack in the Ohariu valley is slowly being overtaken by the bush

Then the rain set in and showed little sign of abating, so by mid-afternoon, I set out anyway. There was a strong Northerly wind and I decided that the closest place to catch some onshore waves might be Makara. On the way. I passed an old shed I have seen many times before. Since I seemed to be the only one mad enough to be out in these conditions, I paused briefly on the narrow road and shot through the open window. If you look closely at the top left corner, you can see the angle of the rainfall (about 30 degrees).

roost

Shag roost

Near the village at Makara, the river is close to the road and there seems to be a persistent colony of pied shags, and as usual, many of them were making use of a driftwood log.

Surf

Tumbling turbulence at Makara

Down at the coast, the waves were not huge but it’s an unfriendly beach at the best of times, and this would not be a day to be tangled in that surf.

That’s another day over.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Landscapes, Light, Makara, Waves, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

