August 2, 2014 … grey and damp

Bad weather continues and I didn’t get excited.

Rays

On the beach near Burdan’s Gate

Along the Eastern Bays I went looking for something that was worth making a picture of, and didn’t really find it. A patch of sunlight and some more crepuscular rays between Ward Island and the city were about as exciting as it got.

Walker

Solitary Man

Coming back towards Eastbourne from Burdan’s Gate, I saw this man walking along the beach. He was kicking occasionally at the sand but provided the classic opportunity for a solitary person on a beach.

Oil tanker

Atlantic Innovator

At York  Bay there was a view towards Petone that included  the Panamanian registered tanker, Atlantic Innovator discharging fuel at Point Howard. Our home is in the mist above and slightly to the right of the vessel. That hose crane is pointing in the right direction.

That’s all I found.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Eastbourne, harbour, Light, Maritime, Petone, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

