July 31, 2014 … food, feathers and fast cars

Good friends can be the source of trouble.

Swallow

Welcome Swallow in high-speed pursuit of insects

This is because there is usually food involved. I met with a friend of very long standing (he gets stroppy if I refer to him as an old friend) for a very pleasant lunch at Waikanae yesterday, and after we had eaten we went to the lagoons at the Waikanae estuary. There were scaups and swans, shags and dabchicks and a veritable horde of swallows. Swallows are particularly challenging to photograph. They are fast and agile, and since they are chasing insects, they change speed, direction and altitude. I keep trying but rarely catch one close enough to make a good image. Even if I do get them in the viewfinder, they rarely stay there for long enough for the autofocus to work. so there is a great deal of luck involved. This is my best shot of the Welcome Swallow (Hirundo tahitica) in flight so far.

Stream

Waimeha stream mouth at Waikanae

From there we went along to the Waimeha stream in the hope of seeing wading birds at the beach. The sun on the water made photography quite difficult, but worth a try.

Surf

Oystercatchers staying out of the tumbling surf at Waikanae

As it turned out there were a few oystercatchers about but it was otherwise quiet. Ah well, in accordance with all the best recipes for the disposal of lemons I tried to make something of of a “high key” image with the tumbling surf as backdrop.

Museum

Luxury motoring on a grand scale – Southwards Car Museum

On the way home, I called in at the Southwards car  museum. I have been there many times before and try always to make something of the juxtaposition of so much polished paint and gleaming chrome. A cluster of Mercedes-Benz cars with a Rolls-Royce Phantom V and a huge Hispano-Suiza seemed like a place to start.

Bugatti

I have red that all Italian cars are red, no matter what colour they are painted. One of Signor Bugatti’s masterpieces. They were said to have poor brakes. His alleged answer was “I build my cars to go, not to stop!”

There are so many superbly restored cars there that it is hard to keep track of which ones are the most spectacular. For pure Italian flair, this wonderful Bugatti saloon is among my favourites.

Stutz

An American racing car … no surplus weight on this, not even doors.

Few people these days are familiar with the Stutz racing cars and since this one dates back to 1915 that’s no surprise . It looks purposeful, doesn’t it?

Something different tomorrow.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Cars, Southwards Car Museum, Waikanae, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to July 31, 2014 … food, feathers and fast cars

  1. nzvideos says:

    Your Southwards photos reminded me of a similar museum in Fairbanks, Alaska.
    http://www.fountainheadmuseum.com/
    As you might recall, I spent over 20 years in Alaska and so continue to keep up on things there, although I have not resided there since the early ’90s.
    Thanks for the great Welcome Swallow shot.

  2. Ellen says:

    Swallow. You aced that one, and somehow, a perfect background.

  3. nzphotogToya says:

    The swallow is awesome! Well caught!

Leave a Reply

