August 1, 2014 … red rays to golden beams

I was being lazy.

IMG_9908-Edit

This won’t come as a surprise to some readers, especially those who know me best. From the wind noise round the house, the day was likely to be grey and mean-spirited, so I stayed in my bed catching up with the events of the day. On Facebook, a friend on the Kapiti coast had just posted a spectacular red sunrise, taken on his iPhone. I looked up and sure enough there was a crimson glow in the little gap between the curtains. I ran downstairs (yes, my knee is better, thank you for asking) to grab my camera and ran back up to catch the bright red light of a winter morning. Of course, it was past its best when I got there, but still quite bright. Five minutes later there was just grey. “Sic transit gloria mundi“*

IMG_9917-Edit

Camera club business required me to deliver some prints to Kilbirnie, so I spotted the wind sculpture waving wildly about. I may try this again differently another time. The camera sat on the ground just a little off-centre from the pivoting wand  and was triggered remotely.

IMG_9929-Edit

In the afternoon, I headed Westward, and as I came over the ridge at the end of Grey’s Road, saw some interesting light out on the water at Plimmerton. I turned back and went up to the water tower on Pope St in Cambourne to get a less impeded view of the bay. Crepuscular rays are always a delight to work with but I haven’t often seen such a well-defined fan of rays or such a well lit area below.
That’s all for today.

*How quickly the glory of the world passes

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Light, Porirua, sunrise, Sunset. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August 1, 2014 … red rays to golden beams

  1. You probably know my ‘hood better than myself by now 🙂

Leave a Reply

