July 30, 2014 …. a very ordinary day

A dose of ordinariness is probably a good thing now and then.

Mangaroa Valley

The Mangaroa River

Sadly, “ordinary” at present seems to be grey, wet and cold. Such a day yesterday led me to the upper end of Whiteman’s valley where it merges with the Mangaroa Valley. The Mangaroa river snakes its way across the valley floor and in so doing creates some  places that are very pleasant to be in, though probably better in summer.

Trees

Winter aspect of some old trees

In this area there are a lot of old trees, and some that may be dead. Or perhaps it is just that they are deciduous and it is winter.

Mangaroa Valley

Mangaroa Valley and misty hills

The further up the valley I went the murkier the weather became. I have a weakness for those receding shades of grey but the cloud on the hills was a bit too abrupt and cut things off quite sharply.

Hutt and Managroa

The two rivers come together

Rejoining the main Highway at the Plateau road, I parked and followed the trail down to the shingle river bed where the Mangaroa and the Hutt Rivers came together. There are more spectacular confluences but this is the one I had.

That’s it for today.

 

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Upper Hutt, Weather, Whiteman's Valley. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

