July 27, 2014 … my idea of a great day

Now that was a day!

Rushes

Rushes on the pond at Pauatahanui

Flat calm, warm sun, some picturesque clouds, perfect conditions. Where else would I go on such a day but the inlet?  On a day such as this there is beauty to be found there, with or without birds. The rushes reflected in still water created a wonderful pattern.

Stilt

Morning nap among the rushes – Pied stilt

There were birds of course, and it’s hard for me to go past the classic black and white pied stilts reflecting perfectly in the surface of the ponds. Nevertheless I have chosen a shot of one of the group taking an early morning nap in a secluded part of  reserve.

Camouflage

Toya pretending to be a shrub or a rock … it seems to fool the birds

At Motukaraka point there were already other photographers there, and two of them were fellow club members. The others were also well known to me as passionate bird photographers.  My friend Toya (whose own blog is well worth reading) draped herself and her long lens with camouflage net and waited patiently. She got some wonderful shots.

Dive

Target fixation … this kingfisher appears to be on a collision course with its own reflection, though of course, it has seen a crab

For my part, I was happy with several sequences of kingfishers diving and retrieving.

Splash

The entry splash is very small considering the speed of the dive

The diving is remarkably clean and quiet with a very modest splash.

Emergence

Dinner is served

Most times they emerge triumphant with a crab clutched firmly in the beak.

homebound

Carrying the crab back to the dining area

They usually fly back to the branch from which they launched as in this shot, but if the photographer is too close they go elsewhere.

Pauatahanui

Tranquility at the inlet

Normally, I would say that’s sufficient for the day but it really was a lovely day and I have a strict policy of presenting only the photographs from the previous day, so the opportunity would be lost if I didn’t share the wonderful tranquility of the inlet yesterday.

Fords

Tranquility shattered, but it was a wonderful noise

And then there was the noise. About thirty large V8s, mostly Fords, mostly Fairlanes and Thunderbirds came in convoy around the point and then proceeded in thunderous procession along Grays Road towards Plimmerton. The cars were immaculate, and the noise was amazing.

That’s more than enough for one day.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Camera club, Cars, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 27, 2014 … my idea of a great day

Leave a Reply

