July 23, 2014 … public and private art

I was determined that it would not be a still life day.

Water feature

Water feature at the artesian well in Petone

In Petone, there is an artesian well which is the only source of untreated water in the region. Neither chlorine nor fluoride are added and those for whom that is important come from far and wide to collect water in plastic bottles from the faucets provided. Some of the water is diverted to help form a water feature based around a large ceramic installation.

Opening night

Some of the early guests at the opening night of the exhibition at the Hutt Art Society

In the evening, I was invited to the opening of an exhibition at the Hutt Art Society. On of the featured artists, Vicky, is the wife of a fellow photographer, and I hold her work in high regard, so I was happy to attend with Mary, prior to going on to a camera club evening.

Gallery

The works were a pleasure to look at, and were well laid out and nicely lit

As usual at such affairs there was wine and finger food and a lot of meeting and greeting. Overall, I thought it was a very good exhibition at which paintings were on display along with some very talented woodworkers.

Birds on wood

The wood pigeon (second from left) and the white heron (on the easel) are both based on my photographs. Take a bow, Vicky Whitham

 

I had a bias towards two particular works by Vicky which were based on some bird photographs, both of which have appeared in earlier editions of this blog. Vicky has chosen the unusual technique of painting the birds alone, on polished wood. In my opinion, she has done a superb job of capturing the wood pigeon and the white heron, and I regard it as an honour to have provided the photographs.

That’s all for yet another wet night.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Art, Birds, Lower Hutt, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 23, 2014 … public and private art

  1. Yes Vicky has done an excellent job. Good material to work with in the first place.

Leave a Reply

