July 18, 2014 … North to South and back to the middle

It started badly, with rain and heavy cloud.

Rimutaka Summit

A long and winding road climbing up from Upper Hutt to the Rimutaka Summit. Note the huge scar on the hill where recent improvements to the road have been made. Click to enlarge.

Later in the morning things lightened a little. How could I make lemonade from these lemons? I recalled that in weather similar to this on our last trip to Napier,  I saw some intriguing misty scenes as the road climbed towards the summit. Sadly, there was little of the swirling clouds as I headed up the hill. Nothing but grey overcast and flat light. It is however an imposing landscape, and I walked from the summit carpark the few metres to the lookout and constructed this five-shot panorama. If you have memories of the Rimutaka road as a rugged winding torture track, well it has been significantly improved, though the landscape carries the scars. There are still twists and turns, but much wider and smoother than before, with frequent passing lanes. It used to be a major adventure to go over the hill, but now it can be done in about 20 minutes to Featherston.

Wellington

Playtime on the water … the rain was not far away

As I was leaving, I noticed a car in difficulties in the park near the trig track. I might not have stopped but it was  Jensen Interceptor … an object of desire in my youth. In this case the after-market fuel injection system had failed and the car was immobilised and the owner had a problem. He needed to deliver his sister to the airport for a flight to Brisbane. Check-in time was 1pm and it was now 12:20pm. Hmm. Since my summit trip had not been especially fruitful, I reasoned that the south Coast might offer better opportunities, so I headed South with more purpose than before. I got her there just after 1 pm but she phoned ahead to say she was coming and all was well.  Sadly the South Coast was not cooperating so I set out again towards home. A brief pause at Point Jerningham caught this little cluster of yachts at play against the city backdrop.

Matiu/Somes

Rainbow fragment over Matiu/Somes

Nearing Petone, I saw some interesting light on the Eastern hills and a strong rainbow. The park at the Western end of Petone Beach was the nearest useful stopping point, but already the rainbow had degraded both in intensity and integrity.  A small fragment of it was at its best over Matiu/Somes Island. Another piece was over the Wainuiomata hill but a pale shadow of what I had seen while driving in traffic a few minutes earlier.

Weather

Wellington Weather in Winter … from Petone

South to the city there was a spectacular cloud bank and some impressive weather over Kelburn and Brooklyn. On the whole I think I got lucky.

More weather today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Maritime, Upper Hutt, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 18, 2014 … North to South and back to the middle

  1. Toya says:

    Love the rainbow and the image under it.

Leave a Reply

