July 16, 2014 … dark and threatening skies

Things are improving.

Pauatahanui

Across the inlet to Pauatahanui and Whitby from Motukaraka Point. I suspect that those sun-touched hills are likely to be a new suburb before long.

Though not yet back to normal, I have regained a degree of mobility in my knee and was able to walk without too much discomfort, though stairs were still problematic. With the knee bent, I can put no load on it yet. Naturally I wanted to get out and take pictures, so Pauatahanui seemed accessible. No stairs, anyway. Nor were there many birds of interest. The wind was chilly and rain was imminent so I wasn’t game for any extremes of bird chasing. However, some patches of sunlight in an otherwise dark landscape appealed to me.

Song thrush

A song thrush has been dipping its beak

Somewhere just to the right of that white building on the shoreline of the first photograph, is the access to one of the bird hides, so I thought to drive over there. As I got into my car, a song thrush hopped into view. They are very pretty birds, though this one had clearly been delving into some less than pretty material.

Pauatahanui Inlet

Across the reeds to Grays Road

The bird hide was a disappointment, in that there were few birds of interest within useful range. However, as I walked back across the boardwalk over the marshes, I liked the contrast between the gold-washed reeds and the dark hills behind. Adding to the scene was the steady stream of commuter traffic heading along Grays Road to join SH2 at Plimmerton.

Pauatahanui church

The church at Pauatahanui against a dark sky

Another often-photographed view from the boardwalk is the Anglican church at Pauatahanui. I have made shots of it on many prior visits, but the contrasting light was rather nice.

And that’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in adversity, Architecture, Birds, Landscapes, Light, Pauatahanui, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

