July 12, 2014 … at water level

Exciting news at Hikoikoi.

Estuary

The fishing vessel “Jay Vee” at her moorings at Hikoikoi

Though I have yet to see it with my own eyes, it seems that George, our resident white heron is back. At least that’s what I am told by the owner of one of the boat sheds down there. There was no useful bird life there on Friday, but the place itself was restful

Maree K

The Maree K high and dry. It is hard to tell whether work is being done, or if she is being used to store stuff.

If you have been visiting this blog for a while, you may remember the Maree K. This sturdy little work boat was washed up on the sea wall in the big storm of June 2013, and then sat there for at least six months. The diagonal stain across her transom is indicative of how she sat as the tide surged in and out. She is back on her slip, and there are some signs of work being done on her.

At the marina

Low level reflections

I visited the Seaview Marina where the water was still so I got down to within a centimetre or two of sea level and tried for a low angle view.

Dredging

Dredging river shingle

On the way back along Port Road, I saw the tug Kowhai and her barge getting river gravel from the mouth of the river. Like many work boats she is not a graceful vessel, but is strong and does the job.

Apologies for the lateness of this edition.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in harbour, Hutt River, Light, Maritime, Petone, Seaview. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 12, 2014 … at water level

  1. Yes the Maree Kay provided me with a few photos of the day!

Leave a Reply

