July 11, 2014 … a better way to end the day

And the pendulum swings.

Fishing

As the tide begins to come in, these boys hope it will bring fish with it

While I was unhappy with the images I showed yesterday, it would be downright picky to complain about the images I made in the evening out at Paremata. This is not to say that they couldn’t be improved. There are always better ways to make images, but for the moment I am pleased. Still dark water, late afternoon winter sun, colourful boats and buildings all came together to let me make pictures that are on the upswing of that wretched pendulum. (Click to enlarge each image as usual)  began on the beach just inside the inlet at the Paremata bridge. The tide was low but coming in. A bunch of local kids were fishing. But that wasn’t the shot that brought me there.

Ivey Bay

Paremata boatsheds in Ivey Bay.

Across the channel, the boatsheds were gleaming in the late light, and the bright paint was reflecting beautifully in the unruffled water.

Paremata

Paint choices enhance the spectacle. I have never seen most of these boats leave their moorings.

Swing a little further round presented a different set of colours and a different set of reflections .

Kate

Ivey Bay. The little blue and white boat is the Kate, often photographed for her simple lines

To the East, boats at anchor were scarcely moving at all, despite the incoming tide. They lent themselves to a long exposure. Satisfied, I packed up camera and tripod and began to drive home.

Paremata

Westward across still water

I had just got round the corner onto Paremata Road past the boat sheds when the view caught my eye from another angle. I went down onto the beach at Ivey Bay and looked Westward. The moored boats were catching the light and the ones anchored in the inlet were beginning to swing with the in-rushing tide.  The sun was getting close to the horizon and I suspected I was about to see a colour change.

Sunset

Spectacular sunset – a fleeting moment

The combination of setting sun, coloured clouds and still water gave me a lovely opportunity which I seized with gratitude.

And that feels much better.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Landscapes, Light, Maritime, Paremata, Reflections, Sunset, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 11, 2014 … a better way to end the day

  1. nzvideos says:

    I agree that the sunset shot was a great capture. BTW, have you submitted an entry to the NZ Geographic contest? Not much time left, if you want to give it a go.
    http://www.nzgeographic.co.nz/photocomp

  2. Ellen says:

    I love that last image, for some reason it reminds me of Van Goghs Starry Night picture.

Leave a Reply

