July 10, 2014 … shooting my way out of trouble

Almost every time I have a day I am pleased with, the next day is a fizzer.

Moera

In – motion on Randwick Road, Moera

I was pleased with the images I showed yesterday and sure enough I painted myself into a corner for today. With nothing useful “in the can” as the day came to an end,  I decided to experiment with night shots from a moving vehicle. The camera was clamped to the car window sill, and a remote wireless trigger was used and off I went. The results were “interesting”.

Petone

Jackson St, Petone … the jiggle says that the road is a bit uneven

You should understand that “interesting” is code for “that didn’t work the way I hoped, but may be worth trying again in the future with a  few changes ” … perhaps a more rigid clamp system. I can’t  increase the shutter speed because then I would lose the motion effect. Hmmmm! At camera club the other night we watched an interview with the famous photographer, Gregory Heisler. He said you can’t think your way out of a photographic rut. You have to shoot your way out. I interpret that as keep making mistakes, and learn what works, and what doesn’t.

Go fish

Go Fish … a good fish and chip shop

To make sure I got something in case of total failure, I took a couple of shots while stationary. The first of these is a popular fish and chip shop on Jackson Street, Petone. Their visual identity is the lurid green colour scheme. Nice fish and chips though.

Station

Petone Railway Station

The final shot tonight is Petone Railway station. It is deserted, except for the taxi waiting optimistically for a passenger from the next train too tired to trudge home.

And that describes me, though I am already home. Goodnight.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, creativity, Lower Hutt, night, Petone. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 10, 2014 … shooting my way out of trouble

  1. Adam Rosner says:

    Talk of clamping cameras to car window sills leaves me feeling nervous. Does your insurance company read this blog? You should get a cheap throwaway compact for these adventurous-type shots where absolute quality of image is not paramount.

Leave a Reply

