July 5, 2014 … tranquil moments at the inlet

The day was near perfection.

Gulls and a stilt

On reflection … if you ever saw the animated movie “Finding Nemo” you will remember the gulls in Sydney Harbour “Mate … mate …. mate …”

Where else would I go but to the Pauatahanui inlet where the tide was full and the water still. I set up my hide in the reeds at the edge of Motukaraka Point and waited. Out on the sandbanks, a flock of black-backed gulls was engaged in some sort of debate, judging by the noise. An immature pied stilt was browsing nearby. Texture and colour in the reflections were just wonderful.

Stilt

Immature pied stilt at Pauatahanui

Another of those immature pied stilts came closer. You can tell they are immature by the light grey plumage up the back of its neck, and the incomplete colouration around the head. The reflected colour in the water was even more pronounced.

Kingfisher with crab

This one brought its lunch, but went elsewhere for the next course

 

Then, to my great delight, a kingfisher came and sat on the only perch nearby. I suspect some of my birding friends have removed some of the other perches, but to my taste, they have overdone it. I might have to stage a revolt and put some back.  Anyway this one arrived from elsewhere with a crab. It consumed it and then flew off.

Kingfishers

Shuffling about on the perch

Further out, a pair of kingfishers were swapping places on a perch which was really too far away for detailed photography, even with the 400mm lens.

I took some other things but these shots make me happy.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Birds, Pauatahanui, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to July 5, 2014 … tranquil moments at the inlet

  1. brent higham says:

    like the close up of the kingi could put your own perches in

  2. Toya says:

    Go for it, just dont put them too close together 🙂

Leave a Reply

