July 1, 2014 … a faded rose*

As foreshadowed in the previous edition, the weather turned ugly quickly.

ANL Benalla

Deeply laden, but moving with purpose

After a pleasant lunch with a friend yesterday, I found myself driving through the Pass of Branda to Breaker Bay and Palmer Head. Against the dark sky, the incoming container ship, ANL Benalla made a striking contrast. At 28,270 Gross Tonnes and with a capacity of a mere 2,400 TEU she is a minnow on the world scale. Nevertheless, she was an impressive lump of steel moving steadily through the heads into port. Like all foreign-flagged vessels she was required to take a local pilot on board to navigate those fierce rocks. The pilot vessel, Spirit of Wellington, is a backup for the primary vessel, the Tarakena, and is shared with the Coastguard. As a “RIB” she is much lighter, and perhaps less comfortable than the larger vessel. Normally,  having dropped the pilot, she would race back to the pilot base in the city and be there long before the ship berthed. With yesterday’s blustery wind, she was cruising slowly into port close astern of the Benalla, sheltering from the bumpy conditions on the water.

Pencarrow

The two lighthouses at Pencarrow

Across the water, the two lights of Pencarrow gleamed against the dark bones of the landscape. The original light house was built in 1859 and its first keeper, Mary Jane Bennett was the only woman ever to have been a lighthouse keeper in New Zealand. Because it was so often obscured by fog, it was replaced in 1906 by the lower lighthouse, and this in turn was replaced by the Baring head lighthouse in 1935.

Point Dorset

Point Dorset rocks

 

The ANL Benalla continued its steady journey to its berth and was soon passing the sharp teeth at the end of Pt Dorset.

rose

In its hey-day it was a pretty rose

In the evening, conscious of a near empty bag, I spotted a rose that had passed its best. As a consequence, I had the old song “Delta Dawn” as an ear-worm for the remainder of the night.

No more today.

 

* Delta Dawn by Larry Collins and Alex Harvey

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in flowers, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to July 1, 2014 … a faded rose*

  1. Am enjoying your blog even more whilst away from home. Had ti read 2 weeks at once when I got on land again.

Leave a Reply

