June 30, 2014 … and having writ, moves on*

Saturday’s glory was ending yesterday, even as I wrote.

moving feet

In a fixed position on the Wellington waterfront, thousands of feet pass by each day

Sunday started well enough, but around mid-day a nasty breeze came up, and it just got slowly worse from there. Before it turned completely ugly, I went to the harbour side o experiment with uses for the long exposure other than running water. There will be more of these, but I know I have not yet achieved what I hoped for.

Te Papa Tongarewa

The wonderful treasure-house is passed by without a thought each day. Of course, many, indeed most, of its treasures are stored away somewhere away from the public view.

Opposite the national museum, Te Papa, I tried to get a sense of the traffic passing the national storehouse of our cultural treasures.

South Wellington

Cook Strait vista – Arahura passes by

From there I wandered the back roads of South Wellington and saw a view over the Cook Strait with the ferry Arahura heading towards Picton.

Petone

Petone foreshore at dusk

My last leg was nearer home. By now the weather was definitely deteriorating and the wind was bleak and bone-chilling. I got out my wide-angle lens which I do nowhere near often enough.

Time to move on, at least for today

* The Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam by Edward FitzGerald

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, Art, harbour, Light, Maritime, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

