June 28, 2014 … egg whites and candles

Yesterday was ridiculously busy.

Oil tanker

Patagonian Mystic … where do they get these names from?

Someone had found this blog and made an offer to purchase some images from it. I spent the morning putting together a hundred candidate images and sold three. It is never going to be a significant revenue stream, and indeed may never happen again, but the price made the effort worthwhile. It left little time, however to catch pictures for the day. I drove out along the Eastern Bays and explored one of the side roads from York Bay. This view down to the oil terminal at Seaview caught the Panamanian registered “Patagonian Mystic” offloading oil products.

Pavlova

Pavlova … a bit unconventional in its presentation … each person could choose their own filling

In the evening we had a small gathering to mark the birthday of youngest son Anthony. Mary had prepared a pavlova, the dessert dish which has now been proven by scholarly research and beyond all doubt, to have been invented in New Zealand, regardless of spurious claims from the West Island.

Happy Birthday

Happy Birthday Ants … Cooper and Maggie carry in the birthday dessert for their father

 

Our grandchildren Maggie and Cooper needed no persuasion to be the triumphant bearers of the birthday pavlova, complete with lighted candles.

Normal service should resume soon.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Children, Family, Food, Maritime. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to June 28, 2014 … egg whites and candles

  1. frugoal says:

    Congrats on making a little extra money on some of your pics! That is awesome!

Leave a Reply

