June 27, 2014 … a fisherman’s tale and I swear it’s true

Another slightly lacklustre day.

Weir

Hutt River weir flowing briskly

Perhaps the recent rain had made the flow over the Hutt River weir more spectacular. When I got there, I decided I had missed the best, because the road down to the riverbed had been seriously undercut by recent water flow. There is now a big step down from the sealed ramp to the actual river shingle. Nevertheless the water was flowing fast and dark.

Weir 2

Near eye level along the weir No visible sign of that trout but I saw it very clearly

I decided to scramble up the dry portion of the weir … a strip less than a metre wide near the river bank, and to look for a shot along the top part of the weir. While I was making this thirty-second exposure, before my very eyes, I saw a good-sized trout slither up the slope. Its back and dorsal spines were well clear of the water and its tail was threshing like an outboard motor. Sadly, the length of this exposure means it left no trace on the image.

Shore plovers

Shore plovers in partial concealment

Out at Plimmerton, those rascally shore plovers were lined up perfectly still, lurking behind a ridge. There are normally six so I hope we haven’t lost one. I took this shot from the car window. Eventually they began to scurry about again, but I decided not to push my luck or add further stress.

Little black shags

Vikings parade before the next raid? Little black shags.

I took the road home on the southern side of the inlet, and spotted this military formation of Little Black Shags . I am intrigued to know what the social purpose is of such a formation. I know that  they gather fish as a community, but this disciplined gathering is very interesting.

That’s all for now.

About wysiwygpurple

Retirement suits me well. I spend much of my time out making pictures, or at home organizing and refining my pictures. This blog provides me with a platform from which I can indulge my passion for improving my photography and at the same time analyze my thoughts about what I have seen, where I have been and what is happening in my life. My images set out to be honest, but that does not mean I have not adjusted them. I use software to display what I saw though the viewfinder to best advantage. My preference is for landscape and nature, and is mostly centred around my hometown of Wellington, New Zealand.
This entry was posted in Birds, Hutt River, Plimmerton, Rivers. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

