June 25, 2014 … the quality of mercy*

Even on the grey days, I love this city.

Oriental Bay

Oriental Bay in damp weather

Greyness was there in abundance yesterday. I set out to try those failed birdshots at Zealandia again, but even as I drove towards the city, the rain began to fall. It was a fairly dense drizzle rather than an unabashed rainstorm. I decided to see what the greyness might give me and set out around the harbour, with my first stop at Oriental Bay. No rain at the time, but the Hutt Valley was invisible, and I really liked the mood. Please click on each image to see the detail.

Evans Bay

Evans bay, with gull

On Cobham Drive near the airport, I got this shot back up Evan’s Bay … still no sign of anything in the North. I got a version with and without the gull and decided that the gull added something.

Hataitai

Hataitai in the rain

Around Shelley Bay Road, the view across the bay was interesting. The houses up in Hataitai were in the drizzle, while those at sea level were, for the moment at least, in the clear.

Panorama

Wellington city catches a shaft of light … everything else is wet

At Point Halswell, I paused to construct this six-shot panorama of the view back towards the city. Compare it with the view from the same place in the edition from June 5 this year.

Halswell Light

Halswell Light and harbour

Swing round to the North, the lighthouse is sporting a fresh coat of paint, and you can see that immediate squall receding towards the Hutt Valley. Don’t worry, another was close behind.

Greyness

Matiu/Somes Island

At Seatoun beach, again looking North, Matiu/Somes Island is silhouetted against the rain cloud. The Wainuiomata hill is on the right and Pt Halswell on the left.

That’s my lot today.

*” … it droppeth as the gentle rain from heaven”  Shakespeare, “the Merchant of Venice”

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Birds, Evans Bay, harbour, Maritime, Seatoun, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

