June 17, 2014 … ruffled feathers

I am not obsessed with weather.

Sparrows

Sparrows on the sheltered side of the house wait for the lady of the house to feed them

Really, I am not. On the other hand, it seems to affect what I do on any given day, especially from a photographic perspective. Long ago, when I worked for the New Zealand Dairy Board, I spent some time in Saudi Arabia. I heard a story of an Englishman who came close to getting lynched by his fellow expatriates. He would turn up at the bus stop each morning and look at the almost inevitable blue sky, and observe in a satisfied tone, “well, it’s turned out nice again”. Yesterday was definitely not nice. That ugly wind was still there.  Sparrows chose to line up for their daily bread on the sheltered southern side of the house. I shot this through the glass of a bedroom window.

Grey day

From Makara across Mana to Kapiti

With no sign of wind abatement, I set out in the afternoon to seeking visual inspiration. My only preconception was in the number of places I have overworked lately and would thus avoid. Makara and the Ohariu Valley seemed like possibilities. The West Wind wind farm shuts its gates at 4pm in Winter, so I had time to see what was happening up there. The distant view of Mana and Kapiti Islands appealed.

Wind turbines

Spinning in unison … the turbines at Makara

In the other direction, the turbines were all spinning madly. They are speed-limited to something in the region of 44 rpm, and I am guessing they had already attained that limit. I tried using the ND filter so that an exposure would capture a full revolution. I got generous with my calculations and tried 5 seconds. The blades disappeared completely. This one is a little over half a second and gives a reasonable sense of movement.

blackbird

Juvenile blackbird enjoying a bath

My return journey was through the Takarau Gorge. I stopped at a riding school in Ohariu and nothing at all was happening. Then I saw some vigorous splashing. This juvenile blackbird was enjoying a bath in a large puddle. I have no idea what was behind the puddle that added that lovely colour reflected in the water, but it was probably a farm building.

The weather is worse, if anything today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June 17, 2014 … ruffled feathers

  1. brent higham says:

    good on ya mate for doing the time out there

  2. Blackbird looks surprised to see you.:-)

Leave a Reply

