June 14, 2014 … in memoriam

Yesterday was a sad day for the family.

Mary’s mother died peacefully at the age of 97. This is not the place for an obituary, but with her late husband Jack, she welcomed me into her family and treated me as a son for 44 years. It was a privilege to have been her son-in-law, and I extend my deepest sympathies to all of her family. Today’s blog is dedicated with love to her memory.

Oriental Bay

Oriental bay with a fresh coat of sand

Stillness was on the deep. I helped it along a little with the aid of a neutral density filter, and a long exposure, but it was fairly still to begin with. The artificial beach at Oriental Bay has just had a whole new load of sand to replenish the losses swept away by the currents that swirl along the beach to the East.

Gaff rig

Classic yacht ghosting along

On the Eastern side of Evans Bay, this rather lovely classic gaff-rigged yacht was catching the sun on her sails, but not a whole lot of wind.

Arahura

Interisland ferry Arahura sits steadily on the horizon

Around the corner, the Arahura was sitting perkily on the horizon off Moa Point on her way to Picton. No sign of the South Island in the background.

C130

RNZAF Hercules inbound to Wellington

Back on the Western side of Evans Bay, I had paused for more still water shots when I saw the tell-tale black exhausts of an inbound RNZAF C130 Hercules. I imagine this was a routine flight shifting defense personnel between various posts up and down the country. I am intrigued by the very dark colour scheme and the low visibility national markings. I wonder in what theatre of operations this scheme would serve as camouflage.

Stillness

Evening falls in Evans bay

Evans Bay itself was very still, and the elderly motor launch on the right was drifting a little in the currents in the bay. Everything else was, for all practical purposes, motionless.

Fountain

Sunset display by the Carter Fountain

Back in Oriental Bay, the Carter fountain was in operation, and the sun had just gone behind Te Ahumairangi (formerly the Tinakori Hill).

Moonrise

Full moon rising on Friday 13th

As I was closing down for the day, I looked across the valley from my front door and saw the full moon extricating itself from the bank of clouds on the Eastern Hills.

Sleep in Peace Catherine.

 

 

 

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in adversity, Cook Strait, Evans Bay, Family, harbour, Landscapes, Light, South Coast, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to June 14, 2014 … in memoriam

  1. Pamela Rothschild says:

    Could you pass on my sincere thoughts to Mary on the parting of her mother who has left us for other pastures. May she rest in peace. Kind regards

  2. Sorry to hear that Brian. Am only just catching up with your blogs.

Leave a Reply

