June 13, 2014 … wind and water

Chilly breezes and dampness persist.

From Breaker Bay

Across the harbour mouth to the Eastern Hills and the wet weather

From Breaker Bay, the view across the harbour entrance was interesting. I have always liked the shades of grey and receding planes that come when rain drifts in over the hills. This rain seemed to be coming my way so I had mixed feelings.

Palmer Head

Surging seas at Palmer Head

At Palmer head, the waves coming in from the South East were surging backwards and forwards through the rocks, so I decided to give it the slow treatment. That is Pencarrow light in the distance.

Trawler

FV Steve Mayree rolls into port at Island Bay

In Island Bay, the fishing vessel Steve Mayree came cruising into view, rolling heavily in a beam sea. Just one lone sea-gull was keeping her company, so I assume there was no recently processed catch on board.

Turbine

Wind turbine at Brooklyn

 

I went home via Happy Valley Road and diverted to the wind turbine at Brooklyn. The day was so grey that I got nothing noteworthy up there, but gave the spinning blades a shot.

That’s all folks.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Cook Strait, Island Bay, Maritime, South Coast, Waves, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to June 13, 2014 … wind and water

  1. John Titchener says:

    An interesting illusion of movement appears, when scrolling down on your final pic. The tower (or mast, or whatever it is called) gives me a definite impression of movement, despite its being VERY firmly anchored to Terra Firma.

Leave a Reply

