June 12, 2014 … other lifestyles

Retirement changes perspectives.

Pop-up shop

The very makeshift photographic display at the Hutt City pop-up shop. My bird-blind is part of the display (at the right)

I am amazed at how quickly the daily routine that working people take for granted has become “strange” to me. Once it was normal that I got up in the morning and went to work. I came home at the end of the day and then got ready to do it again the next day. Now each day has different possibilities. Yesterday, I found myself in attendance at a pop-up shop in Lower Hutt. Parts of the city are empty. Since the advent of the mall, High Street and Queens Drive have atrophied. There are empty shops. The city council is aware that this can be a deathly spiral so has promoted the idea of getting landlords to make their empty properties available for short-term use by community groups. The idea has some theoretical merit, but the reality is that the empty areas have little walk-by traffic, so nobody is fooled into thinking that the empty areas are being rejuvenated. Anyway, as an associate of the Hutt Art society, the camera club shared some exhibition space. We got nine visitors yesterday.

Evening

Courtenay Place – Taranaki Street … a bus has just swung round the corner to travel up Taranaki Street

Mary has gone to visit her mother,and I was judged superfluous to the exercise, so I found myself in the city much later than I normally would. Night and rain were falling. At the intersection of Taranaki Street and Courtenay Place, there was a nice mix of coloured light and wet road surface.

Courtenay Place

Courtenay Place, and as the clock says, it is not yet 5pm.

Looking up Courtenay Place towards the Embassy theatre, the entertainment precinct is beginning to light up. The bright green Newlands bus is followed by a black and gold Wellington trolley bus bound for Karori Park.

Evening commute

Bus stop on Courtenay Place

From the other side, looking back up Dixon Street towards the university, my view was suddenly obscured by a herd of buses arriving outside the reading theatre complex. The yellow lights slashing diagonally across the middle are the interior lights of the first bus. Others are rumbling in behind it.

That’s all for today.

About wysiwygpurple

I am a family man, a passionate amateur photographer and a retired academic . What's the purpose of this blog? Well in the first instance it provides me with a platform from which to resume writing, an activity I greatly enjoy. What will the blog be about? Anything that takes my fancy but it is likely to arise from things I see and experience, in my family, in my travels, or anything else I feel like. Each daily post will contain one or more images made the previous day. Sometimes the image will illustrate the points made in the prose, and sometimes the prose will attempt to interpret the image. What kind of images will they be? Always safe for work and family. Usually they will be representational, and sometimes they will be impressionistic or experimental.
This entry was posted in Architecture, night, Weather, Wellington. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

